Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, we have entered a brand-new era, and there are more and more choices for students to learn as far as they enjoy. Recently, an increasing number of people are concerned about the debate on whether it is of necessity for students to take history whatever they major in. Some argue that what matters most is the present thing instead of something in the past, and therefore people should pay full concentration on the present. However, from my personal perspective, I shall lay my preference of statement on that learning history is essential, no matter what students' field of study is. My opinion is based on a social, professional and personal view.

Firstly, learning history prevents people from making the same mistakes. Reading historical books enables modern people to conclude some information which is of great use. For instance, history classes allow students to build an integrated knowledge system. In some cases, students know a particular theory, while they have no idea about its origin. Thus they might be confused about it since they realize that there is something that they haven't know about the theory. However, if the university provides history classes for students, they are able to put the theory into that era background when it originated, which is beneficial for them to get a whole image of it. For example, one of my friends who majors in Art learns about the art style Dadaism on the class, which represent kind of chaotic images and sculptures. Driving by the curiosity, she asked a friend of her parents, who is a history professor about the background when Dadaism oriented. The professor told her that it might because of the ending of World War One, the society was sort of in a chaotic situation that buildings were destroyed and people were disappointed. In such a background, Dadaism was produced by the artists. In a word, art is the reflection of society. Therefore, history makes it possible to explain some problems students don't understand in other subjects, which plays an important role to help students build an integrated knowledge system.

Admittedly, it is always safe to say that history classes may cost students some time inevitably, which is used on their own major. However, as it is mentioned above, when it comes that history classes are beneficial for students to make a full understanding of their major, the advantage overwhelm its disadvantage exceedingly. Therefore, after analyzing all the pros and cons from multiple aspects, we can now, reach a conclusion confidently that all university students should be required to take history classes whatever they major in.