Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

In an era of dwindling budget, some universities and colleges are considering cutting fund for sports, like financial support for the school basketball team and the football team, and social activities, such as volunteer programs. However, I believe that this decision is shortsighted as well as harmful. I will elaborate on my ideas in the following paragraphs.

Sports are lifeblood for university life, and their significance is more outstanding in today's context. Nowadays, students lead a sedentary life, owing to the growing popularity of video games. When investigated, students report to preferring spending holidays in dormitories rather than on the playground, unless there are sports events on the campus. It is universities' adequate investment in sports that make high-quality, attractive sports event possible. Given the research above, these sport events even become the last chance that can lure a student out of his little dorm and run in the sunshine, breath in fresh air, and exercise their bodies. If campuses are going to cut down investment in sports, then it is evident that students' lifestyle will become even more unwholesome. As a result, students can have more feeble bodies. If there's arguments that classes and libraries, places for studying, is more important than sports, then note this: unhealthy physical condition can lead to worse class attendance and academic performance. This means that investment in sports ensures classes and libraries are used to their full potentials.

Social activities are equally important as classes and libraries. Social activities, including parties and movie events, give students a chance to gather and chat. Going to movies together enhances a person's friendship with his old friends, because the movie provides topics for discussion. The shared experience of laughing and being scared also creates a sense of intimacy between the friends. Parties allow students to meet people with similar interests and make new friends. For example, at a party celebrating the publishment of the latest Harry Potter, magic lovers can communicate about their exciting experience of watching the first Harry Porter movie, and their anticipation for the upcoming event. This is a unique experience that cannot be found in other places like classes and libraries, where people either only discuss about the textbook or are busying with their own task. The specialness of a Harry Porter gathering makes it a good chance for people with similar interest to meet and become friends.

In short, sports and social activities are as important as, if not more essential than, class and libraries to ensure school life is enjoyed and students can reach their full potential at school. This makes colleges' investments in sports and social activities vital, worthwhile and foresighted.