Do you agree or disagree? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

There have been sayings that young people in the 21st century enjoy more freedom than their parents decades ago, and they have to be content with the life they already have. However, my observation prove the opposite. I believe that young people today have to obey far more stricter rules than the past generation, and that may be why today's society features a high suicide rate and a rapid increase of people with mental illness.

Students today have to obey intricate rules at school. These rules are designed to help the school have better control of students. As cell phones and social media are believed to distract a student from school work and sometimes even leads him to harm by exposing him to incorrect information, 80% of middle schools are banning the presence of cell phone at school, according to a recent George Mason University study. However, cell phones do bring convenience like helping students check unfamiliar words they encounter when reading, and connect them with their friends when they are planning an after-class discussion. The ban means young people will suffer unnecessary inconvenience at school. Moreover, as young people today see cell phones as a necessity in life, being told not to use them create a sense of distrust between the student and the school. Students feel that they are not treated as responsible individuals. This disappointment can sometimes lead to depression.

Young people at workplace also suffer over-strict rules. As it is believed that long hours' work can boost productivity, companies often require their employees to work as long as they can. Young workers, typically people in their 20s, are faced with the most unreasonable requirement of overworking. It is estimated that 50% young people in major cities like London and NewYork are required to work 100 hours per week--this means working 18 hours per day and six days per week. Few people disobey this compulsory rule, as being disobedience means loosing their jobs. This inhuman requirement is affecting the life of young people of this generation, as they have no time to exercise, which leads to feeble bodies, and they are frequently exhausted and over-stressful, which can cause serious mental illness in the long run.

In short, contrary to conventional impression, the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. The society should take action to change the status quo or the consequence will be seroiusl.