A friend is trying to reduce living expenses. This person is trying to decide among the following three ways to do this:-Find a roommate (housemate) who can share living expenses-Buy new technology products such as the latest mobile (cell phone),-Buy les

For people living in big cities, the constant increase of living expenses is a real headache, especially when it exceeds the growth of salaries. Therefore, to avoid financial crisis, people need to sort out ways to reduce living costs, such as finding a roommate, buying fewer electronic products and cooking at home. In my opinion, to reduce the expenditure on digital devices is a better option.

Firstly, new technology products are usually very expensive but contribute little to one’s happiness. It is true that a newly launched electronic product usually has better performance and more advanced function that facilitate people’s life and bring user friendly experience. Depending on their cutting-edged technology, companies charge a high price. However, before we make the order, it is worth thinking twice whether the so-called updated functions are indispensable. In fact, for various kinds of electronic products, they share the similar functions. It is unnecessary to waste much money on a piece of product only with slight improvement or difference. Take products of Apple as an instance. If it is not because the old iPhone 7 is lost or broken, to buy a new iPhone 8 is almost meaningless for people who are not keen on its more durable glass body and better OLED display.

Secondly, both to find a roommate and to cook at home are not feasible. For a person who gets used to live alone, to have a stranger living under the same roof is inconvenient and uncomfortable. It means one not only has to clean and reserve certain area for the new roommate, but also may have to sacrifice privacy. Moreover, it takes time to find someone who is easygoing and shares similar lifestyle. Whether the two can get along well with each is also a problem. To buy cheap food and cook at home is not a good option, as it is time consuming. When most of the time is occupied by work, people feel exhausted to shop, cook and do dishes back home, especially if one is not good at cooking. Furthermore, people cannot save much money from cooking at home when the cost of time, natural gas, electricity is added.

In summary, for above mentioned three methods to reduce living expenses, I highly recommend the friend to buy fewer electronic products, instead of sharing the house with a roommate or cooking at home.