It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

Investment in public transportation has been one of the government's focus since decades ago, when the value of airplanes, railroads and subways are acknowledged among the experts. In the past ten years, Internet is also developing in fast speed, promoting the spread of information and bringing huge convenience to people's life. With this background, there is a hot debate that whether governments should fund Internet access as much as it funds public transportation. Some even contend that spending money on expanding internet coverage is more important than developing public transportation. While I acknowledge the value of investing in the Internet, I believe that public transportation is important as well. They require the government's same amount of focus.

Public transportation and the Internet are both expensive. It is estimated that developing a mature public transportation system, with well-designed roads and qualified vehicles, means a consecutive 20-year investment of $10 billion dollars per year. This long-term and intensive investment can only be realized with the government's help. The same is true for the investment of expanding Internet coverage. A George Mason University study reveals that the annual funding of the European governments in the Internet is $8 billion. This money is spent on educating skilled network workers and purchasing major types of equipment. In this light, it is evident that either improving Internet access or promoting public transportation requires the government's intensive funding.

On the other hand, investment in public transportation and the Internet will eventually prove beneficial. With a sophisticated railway system, residents can take a small trip to the nearby town on vacations; they can even travel to famous places in other parts of the country to do sightseeing. Both activities bring prosperity to the countries' tourism industry, which can ultimately boost a countries' economy and increase governmental revenue. With easy access to the Internet, people can lead a more full-filled life: students can learn more about history by watching documentaries shared on the Internet; people can read International news the moment it is put on the site. With the rapid flow of information, the countries' literacy is surely improved and, as a result, make it more competitive in the context of global competition. In this light, all the intensive investment of the government, either in public transportation or in the Internet, will surely payback.

In short, it is equally important for the government to spend money on public transportation and the Internet, either because that only the government have adequate funding, or that the investments will ultimately benefit the country and the government itself.