Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal finance support.

It is an obvious fact that colleges and universities do have a prominent role in every aspect of students' lives. When it comes to allocating money for financial support of activities like sports and social events, some people believe the role of such activities pales in comparison to the significance of libraries and class. On the other hand, others hold the view that there is no doubt that both aspects should receive equal attention. As far as I am concerned, social activities and sports are as important as facilities loke libraries and classes. I will elaborate on my reasons through the following paragraphs.

To start with, it is essential to barry in mind that students need to spend some time off, and do other activities to decrease their stress level causing by the pressure of studying. By being invovled in some sport team like soccur for example, they will do phisical activities. It is a generally accepted fact that doing exercise could relieve mental stress. Additionally, it will lead students to live a healthy lifestyle, and be able to deal with hours of just sitting on a chair and study. Relevant statistics argue that students who are a part of a sports team, do achieve higher marks in their exams. A recent study in Germany has been conducted, and two groups of students were examined for this study. The first group did not any kind of exercises and just spent their time in the library all the semester. On the other hand, the second group was participating in the gym regularly. By the end of the year, the latter group got 34% less reduction in their stress level, and higher scores in final exams. This fact might reinforce the idea that universities and colleges should consider developing facilities like gyms and game areas as well as classrooms and libraries.

Another key thing that should be mentioned is that students should nurture their social skills as well. To be only focused on intellectual nourishment will be harmful to their social abilities. Students spend most of their time in the college or university, so they will need to be engaged in social activities such as going to parties, attending a music concert, getting to know each other. As a case in point, consider personal experience as an example: when I was a freshman in university, our social community demanded the board to build a hall for weekend parties, because many students did not have the time to go out or go back their home town to be in touch with others. The hall was built by the end of the year and all students were happy about that knowing there will be more gathering in the future. Had the university not agreed with the students’ request, and allocated money to support the project, many of them would have been felt secluded.

To make a long story short, I cannot agree more with the idea that sports and social activities should receive equal financial support as well as study facilities. From my point of view, students not only need to deal with physical and social activities to release their stress level, but also will develop their social skills by having the opportunity to use such facilities. Therefore, it is cardinal for colleges and universities to distribute financial resources to support both extra-curriculum programs and study ones.