Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Without any shadow of doubt, media like movies and television play a prominent role in every individual’s life. They affect people’s lives via the kind of content they are providing. Although some people might believe that movies and television have a negative influence on young people behavior, others possess the conviction that such phenomena are not appropriate for young people behavior. As far as I am concerned, television and movies have characteristics which cause more undesirable effects on human behavior, especially for young people. I will elaborate on my reasons through the following paragraphs.

First of all, one should take into account that movie subjects and television programs are produced to entertain people. So, all their contents are not necessarily suitable for young people, who are in a critical period of their lives. Some themes and subjects provide non-educational content, even some of them are harmful to teenagers’ minds, and will lead them to act in a bad way. For instance, some TV series consists of violent stories, drugs, radical behavior, etc. A recent study in Germany asserts that different kinds of movies have a direct effect on teenagers’ behavior. During a four-year psychological study, two groups of students in a high school were examined: the first group was exposed to movies for entertainment more than educational programs. The latter group, in contrast, was dealing with educational contents and TV programs. The analysis of the results of the study showed that students behavior had significant differences. Their way of speaking, the style of wearing clothes, even their decision-making process were not comparable. The first group preferred to have fun, spend times with their friends, eat fast food, and consider studying their lessons as a negative activity. The second group was more into participating in school’s clubs, spend more time in the library searching for new things they were learning from TV programs, and planning their future of career and study.

The second reason I would like to mention is that most movies and TV programs do not represent the reality of life. By watching those programs, most of the people feel dissatisfied with their lives. They not only find their current lives boring, but also disappointed that they are not making any progress in their lives. Take a personal experience as an example: back to the time that I started high school, I was obsessed with a new TV series named Hanna Montana. The leading character of the story was a beautiful young girl who everybody liked her, and she could achieve whatever she wanted very quickly. I could not understand why my life was not like that. After conferring with my father, I decided to cut off watching it, and after a while, I felt better about myself.

To bring everything to a conclusion, I do believe that movies and TV series have a bad influence on young people behavior because of the inappropriate content they provide, and the way people will feel about themselves. I recommend to parents who have young children be more careful about what their children are watching and learning these days.