Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your a

The universities are the place where an individual develope his/her overall personality. Students from all over the places attend universities for study, and research. A university serves several purposes including study, sports, music, and various social activities. But the question is- are all of these aforementioned fields have same weightage or importance. According to me, the answer is no, all of these are not equally important and cannot be allocated equal financial support. The university must decide its priority, which is, in my point of view, library, classes, research equipment, and buildings. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, although a university serves different purposes, the main concern or the focal point shouuld be academics. The research and development decides the value of a university. Building a good library would help students more than building a hockey or cricket stadium. The research, carried out in the university, is important and contribute in the ranking of the university. Research equipment, better classes and fully functioned library requires a lot of funds and a university must provide sufficient funds for these.

Secondly, the classes and library are for all the university students. Anyone can access these services. On the other hand, all of the students cannot go for sports or social activities. For example, my university has the strength of around 10000 students. Almost all of the students attend the classes, use library facilities, and use research equipment. But only 30-35 percent of students are there in sports and other societies. Therefore, the university must provide good library facilties and good classes. This does not mean that a university should not spend money on the sports and societies at all, but in compare to academics cause, the funds should be low.

Lastly, the more funds a university spends in its buildings, equipment, and teaching quality the more progress and values the university achieves. Thereofore, the university must decides the prioirites and allocate funds optimally. The academics requires a lot of money for development and that cannot be compromised with sports or social activities.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that a university should spend more money on academics than sports or social activities. This is because academics is the first priority for the university and it is important factor in decidieng the overall university ranking.