Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Letting an individual to vote is a great responsibility and should be considered seriously and not in joke. One vote decides who is going to rule for next consecutives years and has a potential of changing a city or a country in a dramatic way. Children might not hold that form of responsibility needed for contributing to such decision. So, I disagree with the given claim that children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

First reason being, children of this very age are just out of their high school and will not have a broader perspective of the reason election is conducted and how their vote can make a change. sometimes, it is possible that their parent might try to brain wash them into voting for their party of choice. Entitling each individual with a vote means considering their own well though judgement, and not their parent's or somebody elder. For an hypothetical example, if I support BJP and convince my 15 year old nephew, who has no knowledge of the merits and demerits of each party, to vote for that party, then it will be considered as an abuse of his vote. This will be similar to entitling me with two votes, which is wrong.

Next, 15 year old child will rarely hold that kind of responsibility which is required for a voter. He might consider it as a play or gamble and randomly vote a party for fun. It might also be possible that they don't even consider to vote because of lack of overall experience. Corrupt parties can misuse such unused votes in their favour in order to win.

Thus, to prevent such abuse of votes, it is advantageous to not let children above 15 to vote. With voting comes great responsibility. Hence, it must be considered seriously and only the experienced adults should be allowed to vote.