Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Competitions among friends will negatively affect their friendships

Humankind is a type of social animals who needs to interact with others. People's relationships are the most important issue in their lives and people take care about their bonds. One of the prominent relationship is friendship which is sometimes more respectful than family relations. A question can be raised in this regard is that whether competitions between friends impair this bond or not. One reoccurring standpoint states rivalry has negative impacts on friendship. I repudiate this idea and in the ensuing lines, I will delve into two reasons to substantiate my point.

The first reason is that competitions are not necessarily lead to negative ramifications. If two people compete fairly, there are no reasons for peers to be mad at each other and influenced adversely. In the completion, parties try to enhance their ability to get their desired results. Hence, even if friends lose to each other they can handle this conflict and know there is nothing wrong with their friends. Furthermore, competitions may strength the friendship. For example, when we were at high school and prepared ourselves for universities' entrance exam, although we were in the competition as the universities' capacity is limited, we truly help each other to get a higher rank. Therefore, the competition provide us an opportunity to augment our attachments.

Secondly, real friendship is not affected by unrelated issues. People make friend because of their needs and this friendship is based on some valuable criteria such as honesty, integrity, and kindness. Until these values don't change, nothing can hurt the friendship. With this in mind, competitions regardless of their result could not degrade friends' bond. Take, for instance, when I was in high school, we played football at break times. The results indicate which team has the right to play the next day, so plays were important. In the middle of some matches we disputed with each other and sometimes had a physical fights. But, we all knew that what happened in the playground had no matters with our friendship and it really worked as we are still close friend.

All aforementioned reasons bring us to conclude that competitions and friendship have not a mutual negative effect on each other as competition is a fair process and friendship's foundation is based on different values.