Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Government should focus its budgets more on environmental protection than on economy.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is some disagreement over whether investment of government on environmental protection is more important than on economy. Of course, few would say that a country’s healthy environment circumstance plays a vital role in providing its people with high quality of living standard and it is necessary to their lives. From my view, however, only emphasizing the priority of the investment on environmental protection, the speaker ignores economic concerns of a country, which is an essential qualification to improve and keep the environment.

To begin, it is undeniable that without continuously supports of government, it would be a useless investment of government’s budget in protecting environmental condition. When it comes to a government that has poor and unstable economy, even though, the government uses its money to solve an environmental problem in its country, this financial support cannot be continuous, further it cannot have any influence on the problem. For instance, the Korean government when its economy was not stable, the government invested lots of its finance on the environmental problems of the Han River’s circumstances. However, it could continue only few months, the problems were not solved but also there was no change in the circumstances. This implies that focusing on government’s budget on the environmental problems does not have a positive influence on the problems without consideration of its economy.

Furthermore, the limitation of the concept that financial aims of government should be concentrate on environmental concerns than on economy, can be found in terms of the importance of economy on success of environmental protection. It is not difficult to observe that a government with several serious problems in its economy, its efforts on the environmental problems cannot make desirable results because the poor economy condition prevents its citizens from having environmental awareness. According to a study conducted by researchers of a team at Harvard University, they found a fact that more people with healthy economic condition tend to have well-developed environmental consciousness. The study also revealed that government’s investment on environmental concerns is more possible to be successful with the people. This example shows that government cannot ignore the importance of economy because it is necessary factor for protecting the environment.

To sum, despite of the importance of the environmental problems, both the role of government financial supports and the citizens’ environmental consciousness with healthy economic conditions, tell us that government’s investment on economy is more important than on environmental protection.