Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is always a debate on whether or not job satisfaction has priority over job security. But I think this dilemma is wrong, to wit: job security can lead to job satisfaction. So, we are not faced with two different horns. In what follows I offer my reasons in favor of my opinion.

First of all, I want to make clear that there is a direct relationship between job security and efficiency; in other words, job security brings with itself efficiency. Because if an employee had insurance about its future in an organization, he would carry out his tasks appropriately. Conversely, an employee who is not confident about his role in the future, probably will not bother himself with his duties.

But one might ask what efficiency has to do with job satisfaction? Nowadays people’s sense of self-worth is measured by what they do, to wit: their achievements. People who don’t realize something objective in the world have nothing to be proud of. They feel unworthy. We live in a world in which everything is measured on the basis of efficiency. The more you are efficient, the more you would be treated in a respectful way. And the more you feel you are being respected, the more you appreciate your self. Therefore, efficiency leads to satisfaction. An efficient employee is been treated respectfully in the firm, so he has a good sense of himself.

I can support my claim by appealing to an example stemmed from my own experience. Five years ago I worked as a teacher in a high school. The class I had in there was full of students. They were lazy and did not pay attention to the material I taught. In the first months, I did not really like my job. It was grueling. But the principal appreciated my work as a teacher. He always admired my method of teaching. His support helped me to change my attitude toward my class. I took my tasks seriously and gradually everything changed. I found satisfaction in what was at first an exhausting work. So, my own experience tells me efficiency necessitates satisfaction.

Let us wrap the whole thing up. I think choosing between job satisfaction and job security does not put us in a real quandary, because Job satisfaction presupposes job efficiency. Without the latter, the former would be impossible.