Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a debate on whether or not students should take history courses regardless of their major. Some people argue that making history courses mandatory has many negative influences. For example, some students may not be interested in history so they don’t attend the class or don’t take it seriously. Yet such a perception, in my opinion, is inaccurate. In what follows I offer two reasons in favor of my opinion.

To commence, history broadens our horizons. By knowing what happens in the past, students could acquire a better vision of the future. Besides, by studying history their understanding of the socio-economic situation in which they live, will deepen. For instance, when I was 16, I took a course about the modern history of Japan. In this course, for the first time, I faced the process of industrialization in a country which changed my view about modernization. I realized that In order to become a developed country, one should open the door, come out of his shell and collaborate with other developed countries.

Another reason which I can mention is that by studying history, students recognize their national task. In other words, they realize that they have a responsibility toward their predecessors. They should actualize their hopes and dreams. This recognition makes them motivated because they feel the pressure of history on their shoulder. Indeed, they will try harder and put all of their energy into their work. For example, my father told me, when he was young, he started reading the major events which have shaped our history. He said the more he immersed himself in those events the more he became resolute to continue the unfinished path of the people who wrote the history with their efforts.

Let us wrap the whole thing up. Taking history should be obligatory for all of the students because it helps them deepen their view and also motivates them to become more determined in the major they pursue.