Do you agree or disagree? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Nowadays children spend most of their time playing computer games. Some parents don’t have any problem with this issue and let their children free to stare at their laptop or tablet. but I think these parents are wrong. In what follows I offer two reasons in favor of my opinion.

First of all, childhood is a time suitable for cultivating different skills, including social and physical skills. Because children are capable of expanding themselves in several directions. they are not limited by anything outside themselves. they can actualize different skills which are latent in them. but by playing computer games, they become oblivious to their ability. In other words, children by immersing themselves in electronic games, lose their attention on themselves. I have read last week a report in the New York times indicated that according to much recent research, children who spend most of their time gaming will not be skillful enough later on.

Another reason which I can mention is that the only epoch in one’s life in which mind is fresh and can absorb novel materials easily is childhood. In other words, children’s mind is ripe for learning. Therefore, if children did not study when their mind is still fresh, they would not be able to do that in their adulthood. now, by playing electronic games they lose this unrepeatable epoch which can be fulfilled with learning. For example, I remember that my brother had the capability of learning new languages when he was 3. but he filled his time playing FIFA online. now he can speak only in his native language although he could have spoken at least two or three languages.

Let us wrap the whole thing up. playing computer games in childhood, in an obsessive way, has countless disadvantages; two of them can be put as follows: by gaming, children cannot build up their potential skills and also lose the only available time in life for studying and learning.