Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Parents play an undeniable, prominent role, in their children's life. Throughout a child's life, parents, most of the times, if not always, do their best to help their child flourish. Consulting parents, when one's put in a tough situation is the most common thing children do. However, children nowadays, unlike the past, don't rely on parent's guidance solely, since they have access to more source of information and are more of an independent individual.

First and foremost, in comparison to the past, children have access to more sources of information and are not mostly restricted to their parents' knowledge. It is crystal- clear that, due to the germination of technology, children can have access to an abundant source of information readily. as an example, most of the teenagers have the access to the internet, via which, they can talk to a lot of people, all around the globe. in addition, they can access to an enormous amount of information, all gathered in websites, notably Wikipedia. as a result, the source of the information have had changed during the past decades, from parents, as the most reliable source of knowledge, to the internet and trustable websites.

Secondly, young people, unlike the past, are less dependant on their parents, they don't obey them without a question, like what they almost did before. In fact, the emotional bonds between parents and children, have had reduced in the past generations. a reason to be considered for explaining this fact is, due to an accelerating pressure from the society on families, people are more concern about their jobs, rents and hectic life, than they are about their families. they spend less and less time together which results in the weakening of relation between parents and their children. as a result, children get less influenced by the advice of their parents and feel like no one understands them as well as their own selves do.

All in all, according to aforementioned reasons above, nowadays young people don't rely on their parents to make decisions, since they have access to more information and are less connected to them.