Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, due to the latest advance of technology, notably the internet, we can have access to the latest news readily. There are thousands, or even more events, occurring all around the globe every day, and one can access them easily, in a blink of an eye. Although some people argue that we have to follow every news and being up to dated, I personally believe keeping up with all of the events is a waste of time. Simply because due to the abundance of events, we can't focus on all of them, and following the latest events, may result on our manner.

To begin with, every hour, something happens somewhere in the world, keeping up with all of those event requires sheer focus and concentration. In fact, due to the latest instability in most of the Asian countries, there is always something happening; if we try to focus, to catch up with those events, we have to devote a great amount of energy and time on them, which may causes forgetting about our own primary daily problems. As an example, I used to follow the latest news about the ongoing wars in Syria, I used to check Syria's map every hour, every day. What I did induced a reduction in my marks, at the university; Simply because I neglected studying and forgot my primary goals. Thus, in my personal opinion, I believe if try to follow the innumerable events, all around the world, we may neglect our casual and more important tasks.

Moreover, following every event, especially sad and tragic ones, will affect our own manner, unconsciously. We are human beings, we get sad when one's in trouble; this is pretty common sense and is essential for morals. However, is it really necessary to get sad for those who we can't really help? If we let all those events, which we are not responsible for, nor can do anything about, affect our lives, we simply have dug our own grave. In fact, in long terms, if we do so, depressions is pretty expectable, which will result in a bad life, not only for ourselves, but also for our friends and family, who we interact with daily. Therefore, I believe catching up with whatever event that happens somewhere in the world, may cause serious harm on our manner, undeliberately.

All in all, to conclude with, with the easy access to technology, we can reach the latest news and updates on events, far from us. However, if try to keep up with all of them, we may forget about our own goals, or we may just face severe emotional effects.