Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Entering the university after college might be an abrupt change for some students. Some may have to leave their home town or even may have to travel to another country for at least a few months or years. Getting adapted to the new ambiance and making new friends is necessary for students, in order to prevent depression or getting homesick. One way to find new friends is to join sports team, simply because people in the same sports fields mostly have common interests and also getting friendly with team members is quite easy.

To begin with, people who join a certain sport usually have the same taste in hobbies and share common interests. Every college or university has a sport team with weekly schedule trainings and meetings. Whenever students get put in the same team they have to spend a lot of time with each other which will result in strengthening the bonds between the team members. For example, when I joined my university, I saw an announcement about recruiting new members for the basketball team. I joined the team and shortly after I made a lot of friend. Some then became my best friends and we retained our contact after our bachelor's degree. Thus, sport team's members have no choice but to become friendly with each other in long terms.

Moreover, playing sports induce health benefits and excitement, which will result in alleviating the process of finding a friend. In fact, due to the latest researches conducted by Isfahan's university, when a few people accomplish an exciting task together, they find each other more trust worthy and honest; thus, when a new individual joins a team, he/she fits between team members quickly. In addition, playing sports will result in a healthier physical form and manner of people. People who exercise in a team together benefit from both of these options, and it will cause the team members to greet each other better and become friendlier unconsciously.

All in all, finding new friends is an essential task for new students in an academic environment. One way to meet new people and make new friends is to join sports team, since team members usually have common interests and people become friendlier after physical trainings.