Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the hectic life of people puts a lot of pressure on society members. In order to be in a healthy rational status we need friends and people to interact with. Although some may argue that making new friends constantly is better, I believe retaining the relationship with longer known friends is more important. I feel this way for two important reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, when we keep a relation with our friends for a long period of time, we will find more in common with them. It is crystal clear that we all enjoy spending time with people who have the same interests with us; selecting hobbies and picking an activity during the leisure time is far easier in that case since we enjoy the same activities. For example, I have a friend named Mahdi, we knew each other since elementary school. He was our neighbor, and we maintained our relation for more than 10 years. During this time, we found a lot of hobbies liked by both of us. Going to cinemas and watching the TV shows for instance. Since we knew we had the same taste in having fun, we always went to cinemas together, and spending time with each other was extremely delightful for us. As you can see, because me and Mahdi had the same interests in common, spending time with each other were making us really happy.

Moreover, retaining a relationship with friends for a long period of time induces deeper bonds of friendship. According to the psychological scientists, when we spend a considerable amount of time with a person, despite their gender, we get emotionally tied to them, and unintentionally, we feel close to that person. Needless to say, we all enjoy spending time with someone who we feel close to. My own experience demonstrates this. During the high school, there was a classmate who helped me to solve my math problems, later on we kept our relationship even farther in the university. He didn't feel like only a friend to me anymore. He was more like a brother and a family member to me. Whenever I see him, I get really happy and excited. Something that doesn't happen when I greet my new friends. And that's Simply because we kept our relationship for quite a lot of years. Therefore, I believe retaining the friendship with older friends will result in tightening the relationship bonds, and this makes spending time together enjoyable.

In sum, I strongly believe that keeping our old friends is far better than making new friends every day. We not only find a lot in common with our older friends, but we also form profound relation with them. The mentioned reasons will make spending time with older friends more delightful.