Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision-making is one of the most prestigious attributes of human beings in comparison with other world creatures, as they have the power of thinking and making inferences. As a child is growing up, his or her decision-making power is becoming stronger. As a result, they incline to decide in some situations based on their own judgement. As for the dependency of young people to their parents in making decisions, some believe that in contrast to the past, today's the youth are better able to decide about their own lives, while others believe otherwise. I, personally, subscribe to the first idea. I believe that now, the youth are able to make decisions independently in quite a few situations with less need to their parents for some reasons, which are discussed hereunder.

First, it is crystal clear that today is the era of information, and all individuals, especially young people, are bombarded with many diverse information through different ways such as social networks. This high amount of data bring about more awareness for human beings such as the youth. The increase of awareness can improve the ability of decision-making. However, in the past which there was less information, young people had much difficulty in their own decision-making, which made them dependent to their parents. Thanks to acquired knowledge, today's the youth have less trouble in making decisions, so they are less dependent to their parents.

Secondly, in the past, according to the traditional structure of families, parents had more authority over their children lives, which made their children dependent to their parents in final decision-making. In contrast, most of today’s modern parents believe that their young children not only can make decisions about their own lives but also can counsel their parents in many situations in an excellent manner. Although these parents express their opinions to their children, they hardly ever impose their beliefs on them. As a result, today’s young people have enough power and freedom, which makes decision-making easier for them.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I believe that in contrast to young people in the past, today’s the youth can make their own life decisions effectively, with less dependence on their parents, on the ground that they have more knowledge by virtue of more information, and their parents let them to independently decide about their own lives. I wish someday comes when young people live a successful life by conscious decision-making about their lives.