Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making decisions is one of the most important skills which leads to prosperity of humans. In today's competitive world, people dealing with a lot of dilemmas and struggling to access better facilities that gaining all of them depends on their quality of decisions. Some people believe that in the past, young people get help from their parents for making decisions more than today, whereas some others hold opposite attitude. In my view, young people become more independent in decision making nowadays for two remarkable reasons.

The main reason is that people live close together in past which cause them to interfere each other's decisions. When young people live with their parents, parents are aware of each of their children information. Also, since in the past time young people have less opportunity to get involve in society, they have less experience which forced them to get help from their parent’s experience in their decision making. For example, when I was young, I lived in an extended family with my parents, grandparents, and older siblings. As in the past in our society, it is ironic for a girl to work outside the house, I had no experience in facing boys and determine them. Therefore, when I wanted to get married, I consulted with my family to make my decision. Since they had great amount of experience in this field, I could choose logically. In contrast, now, my girl lives far from us and she is a lawyer which provides her with more experience as mine. So, she easily gets her decisions by her own. If I had had a chance to get involve in society, I would make my decisions by my own.

Second, increase in the level of education of young people help them to make decisions by their own. Science is one of the strongest key to improve the knowledge of people. By this means, people can get familiar with various perspectives of each field and make a logical decision. For instance, statistics demonstrate that there is a direct relation between the ability to make independent decisions and the level of education. Researchers' investigation among two groups reveals that young people who have higher level of education could make better decisions without get any help due to not only they have vaster knowledge about different aspects of life, but they also have more confidence to stand on their own feet. As you can see, today, young people make their decisions independently.

In conclusion, I do believe that the role of parents in helping their children to make decisions is decrease. Today, not only do young people live far from their parents and have more role in society that help them make decisions, but they also have high level of education. I think young people should improve their decision making ability.