Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position

Learning a foreign language is an important skill in our world today. In order to proceed in your education, you have to learn another language. Some people believe that children should begin learning a foreign language early in school. Others would disagree. In my view, learning a foreign language as soon as children start school is very important for two important reasons.

The main reason is that learning a language in the early school is much easier than learning it in a late adult age. In other words, children in early school years are more capable of learning and memorizing than later in a high school or a university. For example, when I was in elementary school in my hometown Tripoli, we were studying only Arab language. The foreign language was not allowed until the high school, we started learning English language at second year of high school. Then when I graduated from high school and entered a university, I attended Medical school of Tripoli University. The lectures were almost in English language, so I had a very difficult time as I had to translate the lectures to Arabic, and enrolled in English courses to improve my English language. This was time consuming because I started learning English in an older age and it was difficult to understand the language easily. As you can see this would not occur if English language learning started early as children start school.

Another good reason for learning a foreign language early in school is that it will helps in the future career. English language is a worldwide language that needed in nearly most of the job markets today, as it's a language of technology, medical field and so on. For instance, when I was graduated from medical school, I wanted to complete my postgraduate study. The medical institution that I want to applied for require applicants to pass an English proficiency exam in order to be accepted. Therefore, I decided to enter the exam and after I pass the language test, I was able to apply for the medical university to finish my postgraduate degree. This experience taught me that, a foreign language is an important and should be started as early as possible.

In summary, though some may oppose my opinion, a foreign language must be learned early in a school. Not only because it easy to master, but also it will helps with future career. All elementary schools should start learning a foreign language as children begin school.