Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, the independence of children has altered a lot in societies. Certainly, some people, if I asked would agree with the statement that parents get engaged to the children's life more than before while the others would mention that the question depends on a plenty of factors. I firmly believe that young people are more independent rather than before. It what follows, I will elaborate on the most important reasons.

First, it is important to consider that nowadays young people spend more time outside than in the past. They go to school half of a day and they surf the net in the rest of the day. Due to the fact, they do not spend time with their parents to talk to them and solve their problems. Today, most of the young people just stay on their own and make their decisions themselves even their parents do not know about their issues. For example, my brother is 15 years old. He says most of his difficulties to his friends instead of my parents. Last month, one of his friends came to my parents and said about my brother’s problem. I think this is the case for many other people as well.

Equally important is that nowadays both of parents work out so it is obvious they do not have time to spend on their children. As a result, young people prefer to make their own decisions and do not counsel with their parents for help. Young people are alone most of the time at homes and when the parents come back from work; they are too tired to talk to the children. To illustrate this idea let us consider the following example, one of my friends always complain that her parents work all the time and do not spend time with her. Hence, she was so frustrated and disappointment and do her tasks just without their attention and permission.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion that in most cases young people are better able to make decisions for their lives than before.