Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is incontrovertibly axiomatic that decision-making process plays a vital role in the lives of people. With this in mind, a heated controversy exists among people as to whether or not today young people are more dependable on their parents for making decision than in the past. Although it is hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am, to great extent on the belief that the youth of today can better make a proper decision for quite a few reasons, among which the most conspicuous ones are substantiated in the following paragraphs.

To commence, the first exquisite reason which advocate my viewpoint is the effects of the leading-edge technologies in the lives of today people. Nowadays, people have access to wide source of information on the Internet, by means of which they can search their desired/required issue on the Google and be faced with thousands of webpages and comments of people about that subject. In this way, people can evaluate the different aspects of the issue and consider the consequences of their decision by the help of Internet, thus they could reach a decision rationally with minimum uncertainty. In contrast, in the past several decades, people need to confer with their parents and other people so as to reach a conclusion about a decision, which not only make them dependable on others, but also cannot appraise the various facets of the decision exhaustively. Therefore, by such advance technologies today people can make a wise decision without particular depending on their parents.

Alongside the first reason elaborated above, the fact that today young people are more educated than before is another point which requires meticulous attention. It is confirmed that the number of educated people has significantly increased due to the far-reaching influences of progress in technologies on their lives. Accordingly, the young can make logical decisions due to several years of education in modern universities, which not only help them in order to come up with best solutions for their problem, but also make it possible for them to consult with other educated people due to their social interactions. Furthermore, form the psychological perspective, today young people are of the opinion that their knowledge and culture have varied significantly from of their parents, and also the young people think that their friends can better guide them because of profound understanding of the situation.

Drawing upon the reasons, although there are always some exceptions which are excluded from the general rule, I do agree that contemporary young people are able to make decision wisely about their own lives. to recapitulate the reasons, not only would technologies have an important role in the lives of young people and they use these modern application for making decision, but also they are more educated than before, which make them more independent from their parents.