Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

We are living in a modern society, which offers people more freedom than ever before. Nowadays young people tend to live and make their own decisions without the help of their parents. Therefore, some people consider the issue that did young people in the past depend a lot on their parents to make decision? In my opinion, I totally support the statement that before young people relied on their parents tremendously in making decisions due to the fact that they are lack of ways to get information and their lives were covered by their parents completely as well. I will explore my ideas in the following essays.

First of all, in the past young people usually lived with their parents. It is not the same us today that young people tend to live independently. They take care of themselves. They can make money to afford their lives. Hence, they can take their own responsibility for their own jobs. However, in the past parents often took care of young people in everything. They supported young children from top to toe. Living in that environment young people were prone to rely everything on their parents including whom they get marriage with. It seems to me that situation forms the character of people. Even though in some case young people wanted to make their own decision, they dared not to do so. In other words, young people were afraid of the authority of their parents or at least did not want to hurt them. A woman lives near my home is a compelling example of this case. She told me that when she was eighteen years old, she had a crush on a man near her house. They both had loved each other. She would like to marry him. However, her father arranged her to marry another man. As a result, she obeyed her father.

Secondly, people in the past did not have enough information to make their own decision. In fact, we are living in the world of technology. Obviously, we can find a great deal of information on the internet, and there are many experts in variety of fields that enable us to consult to have advice. Therefore, we can be more confident to make decision that following our own will. However, in the past, people did not have internet. Books were limited as well. As a result, following parents to make decision is a safe way and it is an understandable issue.

In conclusion, for two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I completely agree with the statement that in the past young people tended to follow their parents to decide important things in their lives.