Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We live in the age where the things have so much that the people are no more dependent on each other for anything and try to meet all the goal or make decisions themselves. In my opinion the statement " In the past , young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them, today the young people are better able to make decisions about their lives. I would like to give few reasons in support of my answer in the following essay

First of all, let us consider that the parents have a major role in the selecting the relationships for their children. In the previous generation, the parents were the ones who selected a partner for their children. The made decisions of the lives whether they were right or wrong were decided by the parents. We all know that there was a dependent lifestyle in the early times. However, now the major decisions are take mostly by the young children than their parents. For instance, in India earlier the parents were the one's who decided the life partner for their children. My grandmother was from a place where there were no independence given to the children. She used to tell me about her life when she lived in a small town. My grandmother's parents did not have major access to the livelihood. When my grandmother was too young she wanted to study further but her parents without even knowing her went to my grandfather's family and fixed their marriage. My grandmother had no option other than getting married. Moreover, she could not continue he studies and had to ostracize her dreams. Also, later got busy in her married life and now she regrets that she was not able to study. This is how the major decisions of the lives of the young people were dependent on their parents and they did not have any authority to take any decisions for themselves.

Secondly, I would like to point out that now the young generation is more independent and are lucky to make their decisions. The parents are now more focused in motivating their children to become independent and make their own decisions. Earlier, the parents were the ones who decided what field will their child opt for. Mostly, the parents wanted their child to become a doctor or and engineer so that they feel reputed in the society. On the contrary, the present day parents not only motivate their children but also encourage them to select and do whatever their child wants to do. For example, my friend has an elder brother who now runs a business. Although he is successful and has a well settled family but, he wanted to become an astronaut. His parents did not allow them to study for it as they thought being an astronaut would not make him successful and he would not get a better life. Moreover, they had their opinion that it will not be safe for him if he selects to be an astronaut. My friend's brother had no option but to listen them and sacrifice his dream. On the other hand, My younger brother likes sports and wants to be a cricketer so, my parents are supporting him to be more focused on his cricket and study along with playing. In all, the parents have allowed and given the freedom now to make decisions for their lives compared to the parents in the past.

To conclude, taking both sides of the argument, today young people are better able to make decisions of their lives because of the full support of their parents compared to the young people in the past because of the less facilities and the social status.