Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

There have been always two groups of youngsters, the ones who try to make their own decisions, and the ones who are supported and advised by their older parents. Personally, I believe that today the first group contains more people than the latter. I feel this way for two reasons, which willl be explored in the following essay.

First of all, the awareness of adolescents has increased significantly, thanks to the internet and social medias such as Youtube and Instagram. While in the past children only knew about limited subjects, mostly directly from their fathers, mothers and teachers, today they are able to search everything in a minute and see what new researches have been done. In fact, it could be said that youth are even more knowledgeable about world's news and events, than grownups. As a result of which, they become more independent and capable to choose their own way of living.

Second of all, young people have become economically independent, which is an underlying factor of independence in other aspects of life. While in the past children usually worked in their family business, and consequently were supplied and supported by their fathers, today it is not a common phenomenon. Students after graduation of college, seek for their own career, relevant to their studies and degree, and make money by their own. As a result, they can make their decision freely and are not forced to accept the elderly advices and obligations. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I remember when I was a high school student, I have to do whatever my father and mother wants me to do, such as participating in family gatherings, even thought I was reluctant. But after I found a proper job and could make sufficient money, I feel more freedom to stand against their opinion and express my own ideas.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that in comparison with past years, children are becoming more and more capable to having their own thoughts and lifestyle without parents' intervention. This is because they could get more information and facts about everything rather than adults, as well as the living they make without parents' aid and financial support.