Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there is today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Who can question the fact that nowadays cars have a significant role in the private transportation of the people? If we just visit a car exhibition, that is enough to figure out how people are looking to replace their cars by new ones. However, there has been much debate about the future of cars. Someone might agree on the opinion which says the car usage will decline vastly in a twenty-year period. However, I believe not only there are not fewer cars in the next twenty years, but also their usage is growthing rapidly because of population growth, increasing people's passion to buy more new cars, and variety of new eco cars.

Although the acceleration of population growth is declined in some countries, it is still a positive acceleration which means the population is growing almost all around the world. New families will be formed with basic requirements such as transportation. Public transportation system might not be able to handle such a great society member even in developed countries. For example, in China, there are always several daily complaints against transportation systems which are not capable to carry such a huge number of people. Now imagine what will happen twenty years later when the population might be twice the current.

A recent social study showed that there is a strong passion among young to buy new modern cars which are convenient and can support their need such as driving relax. Thanks to new technologies we can hear about new cars in which you can sleep as a driver and the car will be navigated automatically. For instance, Apple corporation is designing a car which is fully digital and you never need to worry about an accident. there are complicated systems in this car which can avoid any mistakes during automatic navigation. On the other hand, new advertising methods will reinforce the youth beliefs that they really need this new car. So in the near future, it is not strange if we see too many cars which are driving automatically.

Mayhap some people avoid using cars anymore just because of the environmental problems like air pollution. Yet, new eco cars are designed which are environmentally friendly, not too expensive and just work by electricity. As a case in point, Toyota has several eco cars option to buy like hybrid cars which use both fossil fuel and electricity as an energy source or electric cars which use energy directly by electricity. Most of these eco cars are not expensive and everyone can afford one of them. As a result, that part of the society who are concerned about environmental issues probably will be convinced to use the cars.

To make a long story short, although there are some disapprovals against the idea which says in the future there will be fewer cars in streets; I, personally, believe the car usage is growing fast because the population is growing fast too, the youth has an appeal to buy new modern cars, and new environmentally friendly cars are emerging which can help the air pollution.