Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, with the progress of technology, the number of cars and transportation facilities have increased dramatically. There is a heated controversy between governments and people who care about the environment about the reduction in the production of vehicles. These people think that this increase in the number of cars is dangerous for the environment. I believe that they should not concern about this for there will be fewer cars in the future. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First of all, the number of people is decreasing in recent years in most of the developed countries. As a matter of fact, the population of most European countries has diminished in the last decade that most of these countries like Germany and England have problems because of this phenomena. With considering this in mind, it is rational to think that the number of cars will decrease in the next years, too. As far as I am concerned, the fewer people in the world, the fewer cars they need to move. For instance, in the recent years, the population of my country has reduced, and based on researches, this reduction will continue in the future, so the number of people who use automobiles to transfer decreases.

Secondly, most of the people in developing countries prefer to use public transportation facilities, like bus and taxi since using these facilities are more cost-effective for them. It is worth mentioning that the price of oil and other fossil fuels have increased exceedingly in recent years. Therefore, most of the individuals prefer to do not use their own cars to transport since they can save more money. If the price of oil increase in the future, the number of people who prefer to use other means of transportation increase, so there will be fewer cars in the streets in the next two decades. My life is a compelling example of this. Three years ago, all of the members of my family had their own cars. There was not any problem with the money that we had to spend on oil because the price of oil was meager at that time. In recent years the price of oil has changed a lot, so my father decided to sell two cars because he could not afford the price of oil anymore.

By way of conclusion, I strongly believe that the number of cars will reduce drastically in the next twenty years. This is because not only will the population of the Earth diminish gradually in the future but also use other means of transportation will be more advantageous in the future.