Do you aGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT?

Internet should be like other services such as roads and government should provide it to the public with no cost.

By and large, it is of little debate in today's world that Internet is of great importance. This is inasmuch as nowadays people use internet in almost every aspect of their life. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of its considerations are somewhat controversial due to its prominent standing; many people wonder what is the best way for governments to provide internet for the public. One idea of prominence in this regard is that governments should provide the internet for free. I repudiate it personally. Among the many reasons one can give for this opinion, I will provide two reasons to vindicate my standpoint.

First and foremost, The infrastructure of the internet is costly to build and maintain. Internet services need some basic elements. Some good examples of which are the antennas, the cables and the monitoring companies to name but a few. The costs of these infrastructures should be provided from a source, It is not logical to pay these expenses from tax money because not all the people are using the internet on the same scale. For instance let's take a retired teacher, who lives with his wife, and assume that he is paying for internet services by tax money while rarely does he use the internet. It goes without saying that having him paid for the internet is not fair. Therefore people paying for internet service based on their usage is a better idea.

Another point worth mentioning is that government can use the money to improve the providing services. Developing a service is also costly so for the government to improve the service a budget should be dedicated. For example in my country, Iran, the government recently changed the antennas to provide a 4G service for mobile network. It goes without saying that this change required a great amount of money. And by charging people for the service the government could cover the money and continue the improvement of infrastructure.

In conclusion, having analyzed the reasons above, one can safely conclude that people, who use internet services, should pay for it. This is due to the reasons given, which are the cost of infrastructures and their maintenance, and the idea of developing the services using the money people have paid for the services. Thus let's hope that governments charge people with rational expenses for internet services and use the money for developing and promoting them.