Do you agree or disagree?

people gain more happiness from their jobs than their social life.

Nowadays, despite the many disparities people have in a wide array of areas so far as one's opinion goes, one point that almost everybody agrees upon is the importance of happiness. This is owing to the fact that happiness is one of the most crucial factors that can enhance the quality of our life. That being said, even in this regard, different opinions might stir heated debates as to which part of our life contributes more to our happiness. one particularly reoccurring idea brought up is that people receive more happiness from their job in comparison with their social life. Many utterly repudiate it an I count myself as one of them. In what follows, the rationale for this thesis will be elaborated by providing two reasons.

First and foremost, we build our social life intentionally and by our own will. On the other hand, in a majority of cases, some aspects of our jobs are imposed on us. In this sophisticated world, we live in, doing a profession is an integral part of our life to become economically independent. That is why people sometimes compromise unpleasant conditions and circumstances of their job to evade the danger of being fired, degraded, or suspended. An example of policeman could aptly shed light on my argument. For instance, take a police authority who works in a metropolitan city, e.g. Tehran. He is expected to confront criminals, thefts, rubbers, outlaws to name but a few. Rarely could he spend a day without tension. Having confronted with the obnoxious situations, he might have wanted to quit his job. What might be the obstacle for him to do so? I would suggest economic considerations and social prestige he receives by working as a police. Otherwise, the abovementioned obstacles are not the matters of consideration in his social life. He freely chooses with whom make friends, to where travel, and in which social event attend. Therefore he could choose options which would make him more happy in his social life.

The other equally important reason which deserves some words here relies on the fact that our social life is more various. As one accepts a job, s/he is expected to handle some duties regularly while there are a plethora of options available in our social life which give us the opportunity to make our life more diverse. So various is our social life that we sometimes even get confused. Needless to say that the more rudimentary our life becomes, the more our happiness declines. Regarding the authentic and undisputable statistics revealed by a research conducted by Center for Psychological Science of University of Tehran, one of the most important factors accountable for the increase of depression among Iranian adults is the routineness of their career.

To put in the nutshell, regarding the reasons that social life is less compulsory and more various, I believe people gain more happiness from their social life.