Do you agree or disagree?

people gain more happiness from their jobs than their social life.

By and large, it is of little debate in today's world that happiness is of great importance. That is inasmuch as people tend to maximize their joy in life and in this regard pursue the happiness, In the Declaration of Independence of USA, Thomas Jefferson stated that: "people have the right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness". This statement that mentions the happiness as one of the rights with the equal status of life and liberty, shows the crucial necessity of happiness. With this in mind, it is quite expected to notice some of its aspects are somewhat controversial due to its prominent standing; many people wonder what is the essential factor to gain happiness. One idea of prominence in this regard is that people gain more happiness from their jobs than their social life. I personally concur with it. Among the many reasons one can give for this opinion, two will be given to vindicate my standpoint.

First and foremost, people spend most of their time in their workplace. Thus, being in a happy productive work environment with friendly colleagues can expand the borders of happiness that one feels. Moreover, having spent a lot of time in the workplace, one's social life might build up according to what is occurring in that place. For Instance, let's take a policeman and assume that he is facing a lot of stressful situations during a day. The more he compromises the situations, the more he can enjoy his time. On the other hand, if he has a fragile and sensitive personality, he will be frustrated by the irritating situations.

Another equally important reason is that humans need to feel useful in order to feel happy. Based on a recent yet reputable research, conducted by sociology department of University of Tehran on a randomly selected number of employees of public organizations, the majority of them were unhappy due to their feeling of redundancy at their workplace. Rarely were among them someone who overcomes the feeling and have a separate social life. This clearly substantiates the idea that feeling useful and positive can make the employees feel happy.

In conclusion, having analyzed the reasons above, one can safely conclude that people gain more happiness through their jobs than social life. This is due to the reasons given, which are people spend most of their time in a workplace that can be part of their social life as well and humans need to feel useful in order to perceive the concept of happiness. Thus let's hope that every person working can feel positive and happy.