writing independent- TOEFL September 30th

Nowadays having a university degree is so important and it is becoming an essential part of a resume for getting jobs due to complexity of the jobs and expertise required to do them. So there is a debate about whether it is necessary for the companies to pay for their employees university expenses or not. In spite of considering the importance that has mentioned above, I am disagree with the statement that companies ought to pay their employees university costs for two major reasons that I am going to discuss.

First, getting a university degree is costly and time-taking. So a company should wait some years for its employee to graduate before it can utilize that employee. During these years the company is spending a lot of money without getting anything back. This seems to be a redundant cost for the company while the managers can hire someone with a university degree from the beginning. I remember back in the time when I was working in a company, there was one of my colleagues who was a master student in the time. And because of the fact that she was a student, she has to attend her classes and prepare homework and get ready for her exams. During these times she was not able to do the tasks of her position. Thus others, including me, were obligated to do her tasks and obviously this affected the excellency of the done tasks badly. Imagine adding the factor of cost to this situation. So cost and time are the two factors that prevent the companies to pay for university expenses of their employee.

Second, although jobs are more complicated these days, all the jobs don't require a university degree. Therefore paying for university costs of an employee with a position that doesn't need one is a waste. Again back in the time I was working in that company, there was a secretary with a bachelor degree among the staff. Of course a secretary doesn't need to have a university degree. She was over qualified for the job and could do other things that suit her level of education. Of course the salary of an employee with a university degree is higher and this would be redundant cost for the company. So considering the fact that whether a job requires a university degree or not, is a key element and a company doesn't have to pay university costs just for any job.

To summarize, I believe that it's not a company's duty to pay for its employees university expenses. The first reason is that getting a university degree is time-taking and costs a lot of money. And this will decrease the company's net profit in an obvious way. The second reason is that all the positions in a company does not require a university degree and can be done with a proper training period. This may result in over qualification and extra costs. I suggest the companies choose to hire individuals with a university degree for the positions that requires one or outsourcing their projects to university students and hiring them after their graduation based on the quality of the projects that they have done.