TPO 54 Writing Independent

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

most people agree that governments in the world should support arts and athletics. Personally, I believe that governments should spend much more money on athletics events than on arts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, spending money on athletics is more effective than on arts. To be more specific, financial support in sportive activities can provide better conditions for athletics and thus could improve the performance of athletes. For instance, when I was in high school, there was no tennis court in my school. my schoolmate was always failed in tournaments because he had no place for training. Afterward, the education administration decided to financial aid to our high school for building a tennis court. Then my friend won the prize several times in competitions. I believe that this aids played an important role in the rapid development of my classmate's skills. On the other hand, financially supporting arts is always not efficient because many arts are not relevant to money. In conclusion, it is more efficient to spend money on athletics, so government shouldn’t spend more money on arts than on athletics.

Furthermore, sports competitions could bring much more economic profits than art exhibitions. The governments can get a lot of revenue by organizing various tournaments. For example, In July, I went to Japan to watch the Turkish archer Mete Gazoz competitions in the Japanese Olympics. it cost me a lot of money not only to just booking a ticket but I also paid for accommodation, transportation in the city, and buying souvenirs for my family. Additionally, TV advertisements with sports stars can persuade fans to buy the products, which could create huge GDP. also, sports stars can create their brands, and these brands could improve many industries and create thousands of jobs. The Air jordan brand owned by Michael jordan is the most striking example of this. Therefore, I defends that government should sponsor athletics rather than arts.

In conclusion, supporting athletic activities has many beneficial such as improve athlete performance and increase the national economy. thus, the governments are supposed to support sportive activities.