Tpo51- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

tv is a popular medium that people use both for entertainment and information. this magic box equally appeals to adults and children, causing them to spend a considerable amount of time in front of it. however, people, especially parents, are increasingly questioning whether it is a curse or boon. In my opinion, I believe that tv and movies are highly harmful to minors. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the most prominent adverse effect of tv is obvious on children’s health. children are born with minimal health defects and preserve their good health during most of their childhood thanks to the latest developments in modern medicine such as cutting-edge newborn baby care units and regular vaccines. however, as time goes by, their health deteriorates due to not only environmental factors but also bad eating habits. it goes even without saying that tv directly contributes to both. The children overly exposed to long hours of tv, first, compromise their eyesight. this fact is supported by the increasing number of children who wear glasses. Additionally, spending long hours in front of the tv encourages children to eat more than they need and to stay indoors rather than doing physical activities, and thereby failing to burn their calories and increasing the risk of obesity.

Furthermore, consuming too much time in front of the screen promotes violence among the young. violence is the act of hurting others and harming their bodies and properties or even attacking them. Indeed, teens who do not learn these behaviors from their parents, are influenced by tv films. Since they can not tell fiction from fact, tv changes their nature. Statistics show that teens who watch violent movies are inclined to aggressive behavior. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last month, I had a big family reunion, which all of my relatives got together on my wife’s birthday. during this event, I was able to see my nephew watching a movie on tv. A few minutes later, my nephew and sister were fighting in front of the tv. The problem was that there were scenes and sounds of killing people and bad words in the movie. I felt so offended, and it was totally unexpected about this situation, I immediately told my brother about this, and he and his wife were really shocked as they had never met such a situation before. they decided to use parental control apps to protect their children away from these inconvenient contents.

In conclusion, too much screen time is damaging to children’s health and social life. Therefore, parents should bear in their minds that they should keep their children away from the tv.