TPO 49 - The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friendship is the most important possession person can have. In other words, having a true friend makes our lives easier and full of happiness. although some people argue that old friends an integral part of happiness, I believe that making new friends ability is an essential part of happiness. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, making new friends can help people’s psychological health. it is especially in a scenario when staying in a strange environment. For example, these days, most university students are studying out of their hometowns, with little knowledge about the new environment and people around them. if students can make friends readily, they will reduce their sense of anxiety and keep their minds healthy. On the other hand, if these students have less ability to new friends, they will have difficulty adapting to this new environment. Eventually, this situation, could feel discouraged to students in university life and even affects their academic performance. As a result, making new friends is the most important component of a person's mental health.

Furthermore, meeting a new friend is also more beneficial for a career. Today, most people can find a job with social networks, which have a wide business circle. if you have many acquaintances, you are more likely to find a job. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, the company I worked for decided to lay off a large number of workers, citing a decrease in sales due to the Covid-19 pandemic. I was one of these people, and I felt so frustrated because it was totally unexpected about this situation. I searched for a job for 6 months, but no one, including my close friends, could help. Afterward, a friend I met in a job interview called, she was open for a new position in their company and asked me to apply immediately. although I didn't know her very well, she helped me with found a new jobConsequently, new friends are always the best opportunity for a personal career.

In conclusion, new make friends ability is more important for our mental health and personal career and thus it is a key role for our happiness. Therefore, if we want to lead a happy life, we must have many more friends.