Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have friends who are intelligent than to have friends who have a good sense of humor.

We are living in a sophisticated age which friends have a profound impact on one’s life. People are always trying to make their lives more convenient, delightful and successful. Some people believe that it is better to have friends having a good sense of humor. However, others believe that having friends who are intelligent is better. After carefully pondering it from several aspects, I think the advantages of having intelligent friends clearly outweigh the other option. For this reason, I strongly and without agree with the latter idea. There are some reasons, the most important of which will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

First of all, undoubtedly, problems are the inevitable parts of people’s lives. As a matter of fact, when you encounter a serious problems, you anticipate that your friends help you to solve your problem. Under this circumstance, a friend who is intelligent is able to find a great solution to solve your problem. To illustrate this fact, one only needs to refer to the number of prosperous people who thank to having intelligent people could solve their problem easily. Seldom do people have a sense of humor are able to help you, because they are not serious in encountering issues. What is result from having intelligent friends are to increase your self-esteem in facing with problems. The noteworthy intelligible results, which conducted in our country, show that the high percentage of people are having intelligent friends, do not have problem to pass their course in the schools or universities because those students help weak student in their lessons.

The second reason why I agree with it is that, obviously, people’s personality influenced by their friends easily. If some people have intelligent friends, they will be successful in a long term. Because they learn how to think and how to manipulate their issues due to having friends. The modern world offers abundant examples of people who could enhance their lives quality, are ones who have intelligent friends because these people’s behavior and manner have remarkable effects on their friends. Although people need to become friends with people who have sense of humor, you spend your time with these people just in your leisure time and you should allocate your valuable and useful time to be with ingenious people. In addition to aforementioned notes, there is a well-known proverb in Persian, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this “the more student have intelligent friends, the more they would be successful in their future”. The proverb clarifies the fact that since students are supposed to attend the society in the near future, they should make friendship with intelligent people because it brings them several lucrative consequences such as increasing their knowledge to become prosperous in the future.

To make a long story short, no one can deny the enormous positive effect of having intelligent friends. Not only are they able to solve their problem easily with consulting with them, but also they could learn how to think and how to manage issues in order to become successful in their lives. For this reason, I highly recommended that people make new friendship with intelligent person