Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the following idea that keeping my old friends is much more important than making new friends since maintaining the connection with old faces is equally vital to making new connection.

First of all, a friend play an important role in helping and supporting us while we face challenges. When we're frustrated, encouragement from these two types of friends would do us a lot of favor. For instance, when I struggled with the stressful examination in medical school, it was John, my best friend in high school, who gave me a lot of useful advices to get through the difficulty I faced. On the other hand, making new connection could be beneficial to us as well. When I started my new job few years ago, it was Jenny, a new college of mine, who taught all the basic task of the new position. Accordingly, no matter when they become friends of mine, I really appreciate to all the helps they provide.

Secondly, you would feel happy when getting alone with friends. Whether an old or new friend keeps you company, you would definitely be happier. For example, I enjoy drinking with new friends whom I met in the new classes since we could chat and find connections between us. On the other side, hanging out with folks from my home town and making fun of each other could make me relaxed and joyful as well. I enjoy the moment with old and new friends. Therefore, if a friend could make you happy, he/she is considered as true friend.

Lastly, honesty is the most important among friendship. As long as he/she does not betray or deceive you, you should definitely keep your old friend and make new friends. For instance, when I was in high school, one of my friend borrow 10,000 dollars to buy a new video game. Afterwards, he returned the money as he promised. The same situation happens years later, I lent some money to my new college for her emergency use. Few days after, she paid back to me. Both of them demonstrate what a true friend should be no matter when I knew them.