Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the idea that at universities, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive an equal amount of financial support.

First of all, universities and college are places of diversity where all kinds of interests should be allowed, respected, and considered as equal to help cultivate students' interests and values. When I studied at Harvard University, all kinds of extracurricular activities were sponsored by the school. For example, members of basketball team could train with the latest equipment worth 500 dollars; whereas, students in the Chinese literature study group were able to spend about the same amount of money to host a conference for freshmen. Therefore, people of different group know that the school would never value more on any other group among the campus and support varieties of hobbies and interests of individuals.

Second, it's the universities' job to cultivate and identify talents among all domains. For example, the place where Mark Zackabuer, the founder of Facebook worth billions of dollars, met his cofounder at a computer science club was financially supported by the school. That was where they developed the first version of the social network. Moreover, If Harvard University only allocate money to academic departments and activities, Jermey Lin, a famous NBA player who previously attended Harvard, would never be able to join the professional league.

Last but not least, universities and colleges put a lots of emphasis on school ranking and student admission rate. If a college has bias in supporting non-academic activities, students might not want to attend the college. For example, when I studied at Kaohsiung Medical School five years ago, the school decided to cut funding to sport's team so as to save the cost for the new library construction. After the new was released, those who are good at athlete such as weighting, tennis, and swimming, withdraw their applications immediately to my university, resulting in a significant decrease number of freshmen the next year. Therefore, balanced financial support activities is a pull factor to prospective students.