Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to students to understand ideas and facts, than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and answers to support your answer.

Training students in an appropriate way is one of the most important things that societies and families are concerned about. Students like different things to learn but personally, I believe that understanding ideas and concepts is more valuable for students than learning some facts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, understanding ideas and engaging with concepts causes students to improve current ideas and sometimes make new ones. Therefore, we will have more creative children who can do big works in the future. My own experience is compelling evidence of this point. When I was a high school student, I had a friend that was very active in the classroom and never gave up the class without understanding all the points behind each lesson. She was so curious and this diligence helped her to find new points in our physics class about automobiles. She designed a new genuinely electronic car that could move with the lowest amount of energy. This example shows that paying attention to concepts and ideas will help us to have a more productive mind.

Second, ideas and concepts are more attractive than some facts that students just have to memorize them. Teaching facts to students will not be practical for them in the future, and they will get to forget all of them after a short time. For instance, in our high school we had a chemistry teacher that her approach was only stating the facts in each lesson. Not only does this class so boring but it also had no practical points for the students. Nobody could understand why these facts are happening and the materials were so ambiguous. As a result, the students could not answer some creative questions in the exams, and gained low scores in chemistry. This experience demonstrates that learning facts do not help the students without knowing their concepts, and also, students do not like this approach.

In sum, I am of the opinion that it is more valuable and vital for students to understand ideas and concepts, rather than learning facts. It is because students can make new ideas or improve the previous ones and because learning facts is boring and students can not use them practically in the future.