Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Youngsters are at ages that should make impactful decisions for their life. It is also important for parents to know which decision their child is making. Personally, I believe that nowadays children are more dependent on their parents' ideas than in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, in the past, parents had relatively more children than today's parents do. This causes them to be busier, so they could not spend much time as today's parents spend for their children. Therefore, every child did many of his personal jobs by herself, and in the future, they could make their own decisions without any dependency on their parents. An example of my father's experience is compelling evidence of this point. My father lived in a six-children family. His father was at the work most of the time, and his mother was in the home controlling six children. It is obvious that in such a family, parents can't observe their children carefully, as today's parents do. Hence, all of these children had to do their work by themselves and didn't depend on their parents at all. All these children are young individuals now and make many important decisions by themselves. For example, my father decided to migrate to another city to work and live without any concern about his parents’ pressure and his parents agreed with this decision without any interference in my father's life.

Second, nowadays, parents live in a competitive atmosphere. All the parents want to have the most successful child among others and it is an honor for them. Consequently, when they see other parents' works, they feel that they must do something against them, sometimes without any consideration of their children's interests. So it causes children to become dependent on their family in their decisions. For instance, my friend's parents grew up in a family that many of them were doctors. As a result, her parents thought that their child should become a doctor in the future and forced my friend to choose a major in university that she wasn't interested in. She also accepted this decision because she couldn't make a decision for herself since she was a child. Now she is suffering from this dependency and cannot continue his studies.

In sum, I am of the opinion that nowadays young people are more dependent on their family than before. This is because parents are less busy and have fewer children now and because they are in a competitive atmosphere and don’t let their children make a decision by themselves.