Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people wonder whether it is important to keep their old friends or to make new friends. In my opinion, it is best to keep your old friends and make better relation with them. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, if you keep your old friends it would be beneficial in the long run. It takes a good amount of time to build a new friendship. Thus, if you make new friends more often, you will not going to have any close friend, who will stand beside you. For example, my uncle has few friends from his childhood and they have a very good friendship with each other. He also have some friends in the company in which he works for but in my opinion they are not that close because most often when my uncle need some help, he always calls his childhood friends. They are also always there to help out my uncle in any situation and my uncle also do the same to them. This example demonstrates that having old friends is really beneficial to lead a happy life.

Secondly, if you keep the old friends you would be more comfortable around them. The old friends are the one with whom you can share all your stories and experiences even if it is an embarrassing one, since you know you can trust them. If you make new friends very often, you will not have anyone with whom you will comfortable with. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In my school days, I have a few friends whom I knew from my childhood. As the years passed by our friendship grew stronger and there was an intimate bond between us. We shared all our stories with each other and we felt comfortable around each other and it was a good time. But after my graduation, I joined the college far from my home and I made new friends there but I did not feel that bonding with them. I was uncomfortable around them and I always hesitate before I talk to them. Hence I think old friends are really the best people to have in one's life.

In conclusion, I believe that it is more important to keep the old friends and to keep a better relationship with them than to make new friends often. This is because, in the long run the old friends would be the ones who would stand beside you in any situation and you feel more comfortable around them.