Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue suggests two types of learning patterns: they can stress more on learning new concepts and ideas or they can rely more on learning facts. I am of the opinion that students should focus more on learning new concepts, understanding ideas behind it and effective application of the concept. I hold these views because of two reasons that I will explore below in the essay.

Firstly,One should give more importance to ideas and concepts as they are more difficult to get reinforced. students can always get acquainted with facts but perhaps, they cannot understand complex concepts unless these are practiced well and applied to some practical situation. An experience from my own personal life is the compelling example of it. About two years before when I was doing my undergrad in engineering, we were introduced to a complicated concept of the manufacturing of cement in the factory. If I would have just stressed on the facts like its constituents, I would never had known actual process. but when we were taken to the cement manufacturing company, all of our doubts related manufacturing were cleared as we literally saw how it was formed.

Moreover, many times concepts and ideas are difficult to comprehend than mere facts. so, students should give more time on learning those rather than plain facts. Also, concepts are used in practical life so it should be given much more importance. For instance, my friend who studied public law actually uses his legal ideas to defend his clients in the courts. he have never came across the situation where he has used definition of justice and law to defend his tenants.

In the conclusion, I am of the view that concepts and ideas should be given prime importance. facts can be learned anywhere without much efforts. it is the concepts that are actually utilized in day-to-day. Moreover, concepts may be tricky and sometimes recondite, so, they should be given much more time to clearly understand them.