Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Governments are responsible for offering services to their citizens, and they should look for common interests while they are making their strategies. Personally, I think that governments should spend more money to improve the basic services rather than spending money on secondary services. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, according to many public policy experts, education, health, and public transportation are the most important services that states should offer them to the people. And making decisions that improve the quality of these services is crucial. Moreover, if public transportation is not efficient, many negative impacts will occur on different aspects, such as the job market and tourism. My experience is a compelling example of this. While I was working for a marketing company, I used to come late to work because of the bad transportation network that was in my city.

Secondly, improving internet access would only be beneficial for only few groups of society. Not all people in society need a high speed and quality of the internet in their daily life. In fact, a minimum of internet access will be enough for them to use internet. On the other hand, all people in the community need very good transportation in their life. For instance, children use buses to go to schools, workers use trains to get to workplaces, old use metro to go to hospitals. But not all members of these groups need to have a high quality of internet access.

Lastly, people who need to have very good internet service, such as technology companies, should pay extra money for getting this service. Additionally, these companies make huge numbers of profits yearly, so they will not be affected if they spend a little bit more money on the services they need. In this way, the government spend its budget in the right way toward the improvements of the essential services.

To conclude, governments should spend more money to improve public transportation. This is because it is a very important service for each individual in society and a large number of people need to use this service in their everyday life.