Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers are an essential part of the education process, and the social status of the teacher was valued by society. Personally, I believe that the prestigious of being a teacher is less than it used to be in the past. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the importance of the school itself as an institution that offers knowledge has declined during the last decade. Therefore, the teacher is no longer appreciated as before. In fact. teachers used to be the most important source of knowledge, but nowadays they are not. The internet and the ability to access into any information in any field made the function of teachers is not very central to acquire knowledge. For example, before the internet, if the student faced difficulty in understanding a topic in his science subject in the school, he had to go to the teacher and ask him an explanation. While nowadays, he could search for this on the internet and he might find a good specialized site in science, thus he does not need to go to the science teacher.

Secondly, many reports have shown that teachers' abilities and skills nowadays are less quality comparing to old teachers. As a result, students do not gain too much from their teachers. For instance, when I think about the role of my teachers im my educational background, I do not feel that they gave the knowledge I need and the skills that I should have. On the other hand, my father is very grateful for his teachers, because he believes that they supplied him with the required skills that he used in the rest of his life.

Finally, the new economic system that we live in makes teaching as a career not as attractive as engineering or accounting or business. Therefore, the teacher's economic position and social status are not valued as other careers.

To conclude, teachers in the present are not valued as in the past due to the various sources of knowledge available nowadays, teachers' lack of the required skills and the nature of the modern economic system.