Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics.

Although, everybody needs literature and some historical information in his/her life, but science and mathematics are two important factors to live in this century. Finding job, using technology and social prestige are some important reasons to study math and science.

Along with technological progress all over the world, people need more and more scientific information to get along with these improvements. Job opportunity in these situation is provided for most skillful persons. Engineering, medicine and other math and science dependent fields always need people to work. Variety in these fields are more. If you graduated from literature and history, you can work just in these field. Teacher, university professor or perhaps writing for your own and publishing books are your opportunity to work. Also, reading history and literature is not something difficult. Being expert in math related majors needs using high-tech instruments and studying special lessons. Therefore, besides math a person can improve his historical information even being an expert. For example, if you are an electrical engineer, there are some famous books that you can read in spare time, without any teacher or university courses. These subjects relate to our understanding and more books you read, more information and knowledge you earn.

In social view, people respect engineers, doctors, chemists and so on. I don’t know why, but even a historian professor doesn’t have high social prestige. Perhaps one of its reason is their lower income. At least in Iran, doctors, and engineers gets more money. Many of wealthy people are from these fields.

In my opinion, nowadays, science and math are very important for people to live in the society and have some facilitation. If you have these background, you can find job more easily, have a better social prestige and you can better use technological improvements because of your information and your skills. Even though, there are some exceptions but current trend prompts students to study science and math.