Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

The policy governments adopt to assign credits to different parts of infrastructures varies from country to country. In this regard, many believe that improving public transportation should be among the top priorities of the budget assignment since it directly contributes to having a green environment, and then a healthy life. However, others have the conviction that the internet plays a crucial role in the modern era, without which many facilities we enjoy in our everyday lives would disappear. I am personally unanimous with the latter group for two main reasons, which I will elucidate in the following essay.

To begin with, the internet also contributes to preserving the earth’s environment, but not directly. Today, thanks to the internet, people are able to carry out their task online instead of traditional methods. For instance, new communication methods based on the internet such as e-mail or some online drivers that keep and share documents lead to a drastic decline in paper consumption. Another example is online shopping instead of getting in a car and do it in person, which results in a dramatic reduction in the levels of CO2 emissions. Moreover, any individual from all around the world, who has the possibility to connect to the internet worldwide is exposed to many green tips that make them aware of the consequences of human activities. Therefore, within a lot of repetition over time, it has become a culture among people to notice and take action to save the earth. For instance, today many people are aware of the disadvantages of using plastic bags or private cars since these green tips have been circulating among users of the internet for a while. Therefore, the government can take advantage of the internet to establish the culture of using public transportation or other green actions in favor of saving the environment.

Secondly, the internet provides people with easy access to a wide range of useful information. For instance, many well-known and valid universities have launched online programs for those, who do not have the opportunity to enroll in a university and benefit by attending the classes in person. This facility paves the way for many people to pursue their personal dreams regardless of their age, geographical location and other barriers, which stands between them and their goals. My friend’s experience is a compelling example of this. She had always dreamed about being an architect, but she had to quit the university due to some financial problems and family commitments. However, she decided to enroll in an online program in architectural design on edX – Harvard University online programs. Fortunately, it worked out for her, and after passing all the exams with high scores, she got a degree from Harvard University. Now, she works as a designer at a famous architectural company. So we see, taking out the internet from the story, my friend would never have had a chance to achieve her heart wish.

To wrap it up, considering the aforementioned points, I believe that it is far better to allocate more money to the internet access because not only will it help to save the environment due to the profound influence it has on people, but it also eases the way for many individuals to be professional at their favorite job.