Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying, that in this sophisticated and progressive era where we live, governments and policy makers are concerned with different approaches to facilitate living situation within their country. Two factors that directly influence people’s lives are the quality of Internet and the public transportation infrastructure. While some governments prefer to allocate financial budget to improve public transportation, on the other side of the continuum stand others, believing that the Internet improvement should be emphasized. As far as I am concerned, the quality and accessibility of the Internet is more important. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated hereunder.

To begin with, it is crystal clear that Internet is a state of the art technology and it is changing in an interesting rate, while public transportation is actually an older one. All major cities around the world have been equipped with sufficient public transportation facilities by now. But there is a difference regarding to the Internet, some huge steps are still needed, and these steps mostly need money that should be provided by the government. For instance, my own city which is located in Iran hosts a variety of different public transportation vehicles such as subway and buses, but when it comes to Internet, people demand more effort from the government, because they cannot receive the desired signal on their mobile phones to access the web wherever in the city they want. So the government should improve this lack of accessibility immediately.

In addition, in the last decades, people have used the public transportation to do chores in different parts of their hometown, most of these chores are diminished by the introduction and world wide spread of the Internet. Under such circumstances, I believe that in the future a huge proportion of daily trips will not be necessary anymore because people can do them from their homes by some single clicks on the monitor using Internet. An example can drive this notion home. Consider someone who wanted to mail a letter in 1980, he had to shuttle between the post office and home in order to mail it. But now, almost every person on the planet uses Internet to mail his or her letters, so a great deal of trips are not mandatory anymore. So if governments support the Internet, these useful changes can be achieved earlier.

In sum, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe it would be better for the government and the people living in the society if policy makers spend money on improving the Internet. Because it requires severe money to stay up-to-date and it can diminish the necessity of the public transportation.