Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on how parents play an influential role in their kids' future. Parents constantly provide their children with infinite advice and experiences to move them forward to succeed. Whether parents should incentivize their offsprings to pursue a part-time job to be more successful or not, is the controversial question which is often raised. I firmly believe that taking part-time jobs is not a prudent course of action for kids since it distracts them from their main goal. In what follows, I will explain some cogent reasons to support my statement.

The main aspect to point out is that children lose their focus on academic purposes. Nowadays, collegiate education is part and parcel of success and it is imperative for student to attend high prestigious university to guarantee their future and eventually land a better job. In order to eclipse their peers, they should pay painstaking attention to their lesson and study diligently. For instance, roughly two years ago, my son was offered a new position in university as a part-time job. A first glance he thought it would be a great mean for him to lessen some financial burden by earning money, but when he asked our opinion I remind him about his ultimate goal being a physician and how hard it is to stand out of a crowd and be a successful individual at university. Thereby, considering his assignments and projects got tough and time-consuming he deciphered that he should dedicate his majority of time to academics. Had he worked as a part-time employee, he would have not been able to meet his university requirements.

Another subtle point to mention is that students have to enjoy their life as well. In the modern era, there is a great amount of pressure on new generation due to the timing issue. So parents can be the best educator for their kids to show them how they can enjoy their time and diminish their stress. Many other feasible alternatives like attending sports club or music classes exist. By performing these activities not only our youth can experience a better life, but also they refresh their psyche and have a better understanding of their lives. The more they spend on recreational activities, the better the personality they will have.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly disagree with the prompt, in light of the fact that students should allot their time to better use like academics or entertainments.