Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
Our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations.
life today is more comfortable and convenient than ever. modern society has produced some amazing
innovations that have radically transformed our daily habits and intimate relationships. however, many
are concerned that the way we live now will have a negative impact on future generations. I totally agree.
our current behavior will definitely hurt future societies because we waste too many resources and use
too much energy.
Humans are producing more garbage than ever. every year the rate of waste increases as the population
continues to expand. And much of this garbage isn't recyclable. A few years back, I was living in New York
City. I was surprised to see garbage cans on almost every street corner that were constantly filled to the
brim. My own small apartment building, with only ten apartments, had over a hundred bags of garbage by
the end of every week. And I'm just as guilty of waste as everyone else. I filled up a whole garbage can with
random junk almost every day. There is so much waste that could be easily avoided. we could be using
washable towels, instead of paper towels, portable mugs, instead of disposable coffee cups, just to name a
few. I fear that humans in the future will have to pay for the waste we are creating today.
Not only does the amount of waste we currently generate harm to the environment, but so does the
energy we consume. we still rely on fossil fuels to power our cars and heat our homes. The electric
companies that supply citizens with the energy needed to live still use coal and natural gas. every day we
are pumping an enormous amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, speeding up the rate of global
warming. however, few people have changed, including me. In the summertime, I have the air conditioner
on at the highest possible setting. In the winter, I make sure every room in the house is warm. every day I
burn fossil fuels and contribute to the pollution problem. I enjoy a comfortable modern life filled with
convenience, but hardly ever consider how these decisions may harm others in the future.
While it's true that life today is more comfortable than ever, I believe our current habits will have a
negative impact on the future. The massive amount of garbage and fossil fuels we consume and waste is
already contributing to climate change. we must make better decisions about waste and energy today, to
ensure a better tomorrow.