Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who just focus on only one skill.

The 20th and 21st centuries are characterized by all momentous changes they made in humans’ lives. Perhaps the most important milestone of these two centuries is the changes which they have made in science. There is no doubt that science has been developed dramatically and a lot of new fields of study have been created in recent decades. Besides, they have become perplexing(highly sophisticated) and intricate. A plethora of people are in the conviction that people should strengthen several abilities and have information about various subjects. Others, on the other hand, take a radically different point of view and allege that they should concentrate on a specific field and gain information about that profoundly. I am of the opinion that both of the mentioned viewpoints have their own merits and drawbacks, and following explanations will further elaborate on this perspective.

Before the modern era, human beings did not have adequate information about their environment and it was possible to be aware of the all fields of science. Scientists had several titles in the past. For instance, Avicenna, One of the most famous Persian scientists, is known as a mathematician, physician, astronomer and philosopher. Conversely, nowadays, the amount of information which exists is incredibly high and constantly growing. The refreshingly noteworthy statistics revealed by a recently conducted research in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) revealed that the amount of information doubles every four years. Consequently, it is not possible for a person to be knowledgeable enough in all fields. Even it is unlikely for a person to gain all information of one field. People have to use each other’s specialties in groups and don’t do not need to become an expert in all fields. That’s That is why many people believe that scientists should concentrate on a specific field.

Different fields of science are connected to each other/inextricably intertwined and form linked parts of a chain. For instance, medical sciences and electrical engineering seems completely irrelevant fields at the first glance; however, nowadays, doctors are dependent to on electrical equipment, mainly used for diagnostic purposes/diagnosis, which are designed and built by electrical engineers. Without these facilities, medical sciences were as capable as they were 2 centuries ago. Furthermore, engineers have to use the knowledge of doctors to develop these the equipment/these facilities. Therefore, they have no other choice but working together, and they need to know about each other’s fields to work together more easily. In my personal opinion, it is impossible for two persons who does not have any information about each other’s capabilities to work together on a same issue. They need to be familiar with other one’s expertise rudimentarily.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that although people should concentrate on and become proficient in a specific field, they ought to have rudimentary information about other fields. Admittedly, various fields of science depend on each other and can be used together to cause a propulsion in science and make the life more convenient for people and develop the knowledge of human about the cosmos; however, scientists should have deep information about their field of study and try to expand the borders of science in that field as well.